Witches of East End

Witches of East End 

Copyright 2011 by Melissa de la Cruz

Witches, vampires, and magic are still very prominent in our culture and many people jumped on the vampire bandwagon, myself included.  Seeing as how vampires have over populated the science fiction/fantasy world, I thought I would give the topic of witches a try.  When I think of novels about witches, I think primarily of The Witching Hour by Anne Rice which to me, is hard to beat.  I’m certainly not comparing Melissa de la Cruz to Anne Rice at all, but I think going into reading Witches of East End, I had higher expectations and I was let down.

It’s so hard to even begin stating what went wrong with this novel.  The three witches that the story revolves around are completely predictable along with the men in their lives. Freya is a sexy witch who falls in love with an equally sexy man.  Of course, that sexy man has a dark and handsome brother who Freya can’t seem to stay away from.  Ingrid is her plain Jane sister who has yet to fall in love with a man while Joanna, their mother, takes care of them all.  Each witch has a special ability and so on. These witches, who have been forced to keep their powers a secret, desperately try to figure out the mysterious things that have been happening in their town of North Hampton without drawing attention to what they are.  The story doesn’t pick up until about 3/4 of the way through and even then it’s nothing to rave about.

Because I found this novel to be entirely too predictable, it was very slow moving.  Cruz’s writing just did not seem up to par.  The dialogue was not natural and character development just wasn’t there.  I really had to push myself to finish this one. If the dialogue was at least believable it would have been a lot more tolerable, it was just too distracting and even laughable at times.

Overall this book was just not a good read.  I may pick up another one of her titles and give it a go and see how things compare.  Cruz is a New York Times Bestselling author and I completely respect her for that, but this novel just wasn’t for me and had some areas that needed work.

Check out Melissa de la Cruz’s website: http://www.melissa-delacruz.com/

Leave a Reply

